Patent Filing in Côte d'Ivoire
A PCT application reaches Côte d'Ivoire through OAPI, within 30 months from the priority date. AnalystIP handles the regional phase and the validation in Côte d'Ivoire, with every requirement below taken from the WIPO PCT Applicant's Guide.
When is your national phase deadline in Côte d'Ivoire?
Enter the earliest priority date of your PCT application (or the international filing date if there is no priority).
Patent filing in Côte d'Ivoire: key facts
Reinstatement of rights permitted (Rule 49.6); fee: refer to the Office
None
20 years from the international filing date
Official fees for patent filing in Côte d'Ivoire
Filing in several countries? Compare fees with other countries →
Standard official fees (general)
From the WIPO PCT Applicant's Guide (OAPI), updated September 25, 2026. Amounts in XAF. Your exact fees depend on your application: use the calculator above.
| Fee | Amount | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Patents: Filing fee | XAF 225,000 | Amount from Annex OA.I (not stated in summary); due within the Article 22/39(1) time limit |
| Patents: Examination fee | XAF 250,000 | |
| Patents: Fee for priority claims, per priority | XAF 75,000 | |
| Patents: Publication fee | XAF 365,000 | Amount from Annex OA.I (not stated in summary) |
| Patents: Claim fee for each claim in excess of 10 | XAF 65,000 | |
| Patents: Annual fees, 2nd to 3rd year, per year | XAF 270,000 | Calculated from the international filing date |
| Utility models: Filing fee | XAF 20,000 | |
| Utility models: Examination fee | XAF 25,000 | |
| Utility models: Fee for priority claims, per priority | XAF 25,000 | |
| Utility models: Publication fee | XAF 30,000 | Amount from Annex OA.I |
| Utility models: Claim fee for each claim in excess of 10 | XAF 45,000 | |
| Utility models: Annual fees, 2nd year | XAF 20,000 | |
| Utility models: Annual fees, 3rd year | XAF 20,000 | |
| Annex OA.I: Late payment supplement for annual fees | XAF 70,000 | |
| Annex OA.I: Amendment or correction of substance (patents) | XAF 40,000 | |
| Annex OA.I: Amendment or correction of substance (utility models) | XAF 18,000 | |
| Annex OA.I: Appeal | XAF 960,000 | |
| Annex OA.I: Conversion of a patent into a utility model | XAF 50,000 |
Fee reductions: None
National phase entry requirements
These are the requirements of OAPI, through which a PCT application reaches Côte d'Ivoire.
Time limit
30 months from the priority date (Article 22(1) and Article 39(1)(a); same for Chapter I and II)
No national route: protection is obtained through OAPI.
Translation
Under Article 22: description, claims (only as amended, if amended, together with any Article 19 statement), text matter of drawings, abstract. Under Article 39(1): description, claims, text matter of drawings, abstract; amended parts only as amended by the annexes to the IPER. Due within the Article 22 or 39(1) time limit.
Late entry and reinstatement
Reinstatement of rights permitted (Rule 49.6); fee: refer to the Office
Agent and power of attorney
Required if the applicant does not reside in an OAPI Member State; any industrial property attorney or agent registered to practice before OAPI may act
Special requirements of the office
- Name and address of the inventor, if not in the request (may be satisfied by a Rule 4.17 declaration)
- Appointment of an agent if the applicant is not resident in an OAPI Member State
- Translation of the priority document into English or French, where the validity of the priority claim is relevant to patentability
- Instrument of assignment of the priority application where applicants are not identical (may be satisfied by a Rule 4.17 declaration)
Other information
- The list of special requirements is still subject to confirmation by the Office
- Office accepts restoration of priority by receiving Office and requests for restoration (refer to the Office)
- Copy of the international application required only if OAPI has not received it under Article 20
- Fees payable in CFA francs (XAF)
- Annual fees due on each anniversary of the international filing date; surcharge within six months grace
- OAPI does not grant both a patent and a utility model for the same invention
Source: WIPO PCT Applicant's Guide, national chapter, updated September 25, 2026.
Patent filing in Côte d'Ivoire: questions
What is the deadline for PCT national phase entry in Côte d'Ivoire?
30 months from the earliest priority date.
Can I enter the national phase in Côte d'Ivoire after the deadline?
Reinstatement of rights permitted (Rule 49.6); fee: refer to the Office
Can a PCT application enter the national phase directly in Côte d'Ivoire?
No. The national route is closed: a PCT application covers Côte d'Ivoire only through OAPI. The patent granted by the regional office then takes effect in Côte d'Ivoire.
In which language must the application be filed in Côte d'Ivoire?
English or French. Under Article 22: description, claims (only as amended, if amended, together with any Article 19 statement), text matter of drawings, abstract. Under Article 39(1): description, claims, text matter of drawings, abstract; amended parts only as amended by the annexes to the IPER. Due within the Article 22 or 39(1) time limit.
Do I need a local patent attorney in Côte d'Ivoire?
Required if the applicant does not reside in an OAPI Member State; any industrial property attorney or agent registered to practice before OAPI may act
Are there official fee reductions in Côte d'Ivoire?
None
How much does patent filing in Côte d'Ivoire cost?
The cost is the official fees of the patent office plus professional fees. The standard official fees from WIPO are listed on this page; the calculator works out the exact official fees for your application (pages, claims, applicant type) after a quick email check, and our team sends a full quote on request.
File in Côte d'Ivoire with AnalystIP
- One point of contact for national phase entry in 150+ countries
- Deadlines, translations, local agents and formalities handled for you
- Every cost set out before you instruct
