Skip to content
ISO 9001:2015 certified
PCT national phase · Middle East & Africa

Patent Filing in the Central African Republic

A PCT application reaches the Central African Republic through OAPI, within 30 months from the priority date. AnalystIP handles the regional phase and the validation in the Central African Republic, with every requirement below taken from the WIPO PCT Applicant's Guide.

Regional route only. A PCT application covers the Central African Republic only through OAPI. The requirements and fees on this page are those of OAPI. Patent filing through OAPI →
Deadline

When is your national phase deadline in the Central African Republic?

Enter the earliest priority date of your PCT application (or the international filing date if there is no priority).

Key facts

Patent filing in the Central African Republic: key facts

Late entry

Reinstatement of rights permitted (Rule 49.6); fee: refer to the Office

Fee reductions

None

Patent term

20 years from the international filing date

Official fees

Official fees for patent filing in the Central African Republic

Exact official fees for your applicationFor the Central African Republic, based on your pages, claims and applicant type. Free, after a quick email check.

Filing in several countries? Compare fees with other countries →

Standard official fees (general)

From the WIPO PCT Applicant's Guide (OAPI), updated September 25, 2026. Amounts in XAF. Your exact fees depend on your application: use the calculator above.

FeeAmountNotes
Patents: Filing feeXAF 225,000Amount from Annex OA.I (not stated in summary); due within the Article 22/39(1) time limit
Patents: Examination feeXAF 250,000
Patents: Fee for priority claims, per priorityXAF 75,000
Patents: Publication feeXAF 365,000Amount from Annex OA.I (not stated in summary)
Patents: Claim fee for each claim in excess of 10XAF 65,000
Patents: Annual fees, 2nd to 3rd year, per yearXAF 270,000Calculated from the international filing date
Utility models: Filing feeXAF 20,000
Utility models: Examination feeXAF 25,000
Utility models: Fee for priority claims, per priorityXAF 25,000
Utility models: Publication feeXAF 30,000Amount from Annex OA.I
Utility models: Claim fee for each claim in excess of 10XAF 45,000
Utility models: Annual fees, 2nd yearXAF 20,000
Utility models: Annual fees, 3rd yearXAF 20,000
Annex OA.I: Late payment supplement for annual feesXAF 70,000
Annex OA.I: Amendment or correction of substance (patents)XAF 40,000
Annex OA.I: Amendment or correction of substance (utility models)XAF 18,000
Annex OA.I: AppealXAF 960,000
Annex OA.I: Conversion of a patent into a utility modelXAF 50,000

Fee reductions: None

From WIPO

National phase entry requirements

These are the requirements of OAPI, through which a PCT application reaches the Central African Republic.

Time limit

30 months from the priority date (Article 22(1) and Article 39(1)(a); same for Chapter I and II)

No national route: protection is obtained through OAPI.

Translation

Under Article 22: description, claims (only as amended, if amended, together with any Article 19 statement), text matter of drawings, abstract. Under Article 39(1): description, claims, text matter of drawings, abstract; amended parts only as amended by the annexes to the IPER. Due within the Article 22 or 39(1) time limit.

Late entry and reinstatement

Reinstatement of rights permitted (Rule 49.6); fee: refer to the Office

Agent and power of attorney

Required if the applicant does not reside in an OAPI Member State; any industrial property attorney or agent registered to practice before OAPI may act

Special requirements of the office

  • Name and address of the inventor, if not in the request (may be satisfied by a Rule 4.17 declaration)
  • Appointment of an agent if the applicant is not resident in an OAPI Member State
  • Translation of the priority document into English or French, where the validity of the priority claim is relevant to patentability
  • Instrument of assignment of the priority application where applicants are not identical (may be satisfied by a Rule 4.17 declaration)

Other information

  • The list of special requirements is still subject to confirmation by the Office
  • Office accepts restoration of priority by receiving Office and requests for restoration (refer to the Office)
  • Copy of the international application required only if OAPI has not received it under Article 20
  • Fees payable in CFA francs (XAF)
  • Annual fees due on each anniversary of the international filing date; surcharge within six months grace
  • OAPI does not grant both a patent and a utility model for the same invention

Source: WIPO PCT Applicant's Guide, national chapter, updated September 25, 2026.

FAQ

Patent filing in the Central African Republic: questions

What is the deadline for PCT national phase entry in the Central African Republic?

30 months from the earliest priority date.

Can I enter the national phase in the Central African Republic after the deadline?

Reinstatement of rights permitted (Rule 49.6); fee: refer to the Office

Can a PCT application enter the national phase directly in the Central African Republic?

No. The national route is closed: a PCT application covers the Central African Republic only through OAPI. The patent granted by the regional office then takes effect in the Central African Republic.

In which language must the application be filed in the Central African Republic?

English or French. Under Article 22: description, claims (only as amended, if amended, together with any Article 19 statement), text matter of drawings, abstract. Under Article 39(1): description, claims, text matter of drawings, abstract; amended parts only as amended by the annexes to the IPER. Due within the Article 22 or 39(1) time limit.

Do I need a local patent attorney in the Central African Republic?

Required if the applicant does not reside in an OAPI Member State; any industrial property attorney or agent registered to practice before OAPI may act

Are there official fee reductions in the Central African Republic?

None

How much does patent filing in the Central African Republic cost?

The cost is the official fees of the patent office plus professional fees. The standard official fees from WIPO are listed on this page; the calculator works out the exact official fees for your application (pages, claims, applicant type) after a quick email check, and our team sends a full quote on request.

File in the Central African Republic with AnalystIP

  • One point of contact for national phase entry in 150+ countries
  • Deadlines, translations, local agents and formalities handled for you
  • Every cost set out before you instruct

Stay ahead in intellectual property

Get practical patent and trademark insights, deadlines and news from our team. No spam, unsubscribe any time.

By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.